Finalists have been announced for the 2018 Community Services Excellence Awards (CSEA), with 31 outstanding candidates named by Honourable Simone McGurk, Minister for Community Services.

The awards, presented by WACOSS in partnership with the State Government, recognise the work of organisations and individuals in the community services sector, who have demonstrably made a positive difference to people, families, and communities through innovative and creative practice.

Finalists in the awards include, health, Aboriginal, housing, youth, homelessness, mental health, out of home care, and emergency relief organisations.

“We are honoured to be able to present the awards to the worthy and esteemed organisations and individuals, who perform tireless work in the sector year after year,” said Louise Giolitto, Chief Executive Officer, WACOSS.

“We are incredibly excited to have 31 finalists, selected from 100 exemplary and valued nominations.

“These organisations are at the forefront, driving change within our communities to improve outcomes for people who experience disadvantage and adversity.

“The organisations and individuals have demonstrated a focus on outcomes, starting with local initiatives in their community, and partnering with other organisations, to provide creative and innovative solutions.

“The awards would not be possible without the long-term partnership with the Government, and the support of Lotterywest,” Louise said.

The winners for each category will be announced on Wednesday 2 May 2018 at an evening event which will be opened by the Community Services Minister, Honourable Simone McGurk, and coincides with the WACOSS Conference: Making Place.


Community Services Excellence Awards
5:00 – 7:30pm
Wednesday 2 May 2018
Perth Convention Centre, 21 Mounts Bay Road, Perth WA 6000

Tickets for the awards ceremony are available at:



Category 1 – Small Organisation


Phoenix Support and Advocacy Service

Street Law Centre WA

Yangebup Family Centre


Category 2 – Medium Organisation

EON Foundation – EON Thriving Communities Program

Nyoongar Outreach Services

Tuart Place

Zonta House Refuge Association – Safer Pathways for Women and Children Program


Category 3 – Large Organisation

Foodbank WA – Community Kitchen

Parkerville Children and Youth Care

Richmond Wellbeing

Ruah Community Services – 50 Lives 50 Homes Campaign


Category 4 – Regional Organisation

Bloodwood Tree Association

EON Foundation – EON Thriving Communities Program

South West Counselling

Youth Involvement Council


Category 5 – Outstanding commitment to collaborative place-based services or solutions

ABC Foundation (Aboriginal Biodiversity Conservation)

ConnectGroups – Kalumburu Community Capacity Building Project, supported by Enterprise Learning Projects and Tramulla Strong Women’s Group

Mentally Healthy WA – Act-Belong-Commit ‘Standing Strong Together in Roebourne’ Aboriginal Project

Save the Children – Youth Partnership Project


Category 6 – Outstanding contribution to improving life in communities by an aboriginal organisation

Bloodwood Tree Association

Gumala Aboriginal Corporation

Mirima Dawang Woorlab-gerring Language and Culture Centre

Yorganop Association


Category 7 – Above and Beyond

Jamie Barr (City of Armadale)

Nicole Haberley (Reach for Life)

Maggie Lewis (Newman Women’s Shelter)

Dellys Sice (Manjimup Family Centre)


Category 8 – Excellence in Leadership

Fran Haintz (Shooting Stars)

Vicki-Tree Stephens (Youth Involvement Council)

Dawn Wallam (Yorganop)



Media contact:  Laurene Coller, Communications Officer, [email protected], 0419 316 557, 08 9420 7222.

In this document

Share this page

Media Enquiries

For media enquiries please contact us during office hours on (08) 6381 5300

After hours media contact:

Louise Giolitto
0411 534 911

Recent Media Releases

Follow Us