Finalists have been announced for the 2021 Community Services Excellence Awards, with 32 outstanding nominees named by the Honourable Simone McGurk MLA, Minister for Community Services.

The awards – a partnership between the Western Australian Council of Social Service, and the Department of Communities, and supported by Lotterywest – continue to be an indispensable opportunity for the sector to reflect on its achievements, and to commemorate both these and the significant differences made within our communities as a result.

The awards recognise the work of organisations and individuals in the community services sector, who have demonstrably made a positive difference to people, families, and communities through innovative and creative practice.

Finalists in the awards include organisations working across the spaces of health, children and families, housing and homelessness, youth, mental health, multicultural support, emergency and food relief, alcohol and other drugs, family and domestic violence, and Aboriginal wellbeing,

“We are honoured to be able to present the awards to the worthy and esteemed organisations and individuals, who perform tireless work in the sector,” said Louise Giolitto, Chief Executive Officer, WACOSS.

“We are incredibly excited to have 32 finalists, selected from over 150 exemplary and valued nominations.

“Staff in the community services sector have worked through one of the toughest years, continuing to provide services to people in our community most at risk, and more than ever we need to recognise their outstanding contributions.

“Those nominated organisations and individuals are at the forefront, driving change within our communities to improve outcomes for people who experience disadvantage and adversity.

“They have demonstrated a focus on outcomes, starting with local initiatives in their community, and partnering with other organisations, to provide creative and innovative solutions.

“The awards would not be possible without the long-term partnership with the Government, and the support of Lotterywest,” Louise Giolitto concluded.

Winners for each category will be announced at an evening event on Tuesday 23 February 2021, which will be opened by the Department of Communities’ Director General, Michelle Andrews and WACOSS President, Debra Zanella, with awards presented by Honourable Simone McGurk MLA, Minister for Community Services and Mr Tony Krsticevic, Shadow Minister for Community Services.

The Community Services Excellence Awards coincides with the WACOSS Conference Finding Ground: Building a better way back together, 22-24 February 2021.


Community Services Excellence Awards
Date: Tuesday 23 February 2021
Time: 5:30pm – 8:30pm
Location: Esplanade Hotel Fremantle, 45 Marine Terrace, Fremantle, WA, 6160


Tickets for the awards ceremony are available at:


Community Services Excellence Awards Finalists


Organisational Categories

Category 1 – Small Organisation


Perth Inner City Youth Service

Street Law Centre WA

Teach Learn Grow


Category 2 – Medium Organisation


SHQ (Sexual Health Quarters)

Umbrella Multicultural Community Care Services

Zonta House Refuge Association


Category 3 – Large Organisation

City of Gosnells

Multicultural Services Centre of WA

Ngarliyarndu Bindirri Aboriginal Corporation

Ruah Community Services


Category 4 – Regional Organisation

Bloodwood Tree Association


Ngarliyarndu Bindirri Aboriginal Corporation

Val and Kathy’s Crafty Kitchen


Category 5 – Outstanding Community-Led Collaboration Leading to Better Community Outcomes

Connecting Community for Kids


Palmerston Association

Save the Children


Category 6 – Outstanding Achievement by an Aboriginal Community Controlled Organisation (Leading to Better Outcomes)

Noongar Mia Mia

Wungening Aboriginal Corporation


Yorgum Healing Services Aboriginal Corporation


Individual Categories

Category 7 – Above and Beyond

Mandy Mountfort (Midlas)

Margaret Potangaroa (Ruah Community Services)

Nathan Reed (Community volunteer)

Robert John Evans (Financial counselling services and advocacy)


Category 8 – Excellence in Leadership

Bruce Duffy (Making Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder History)

Cameron Hardy (Community mentor and connector)

Jenny Allen (Ngala)

Nicky Howe (Southcare)



Download a PDF version of this media release. 

Media contact: Laurene Coller, Communications Officer, [email protected], 0419 316 557.

In this document

Share this page

Media Enquiries

For media enquiries please contact us during office hours on (08) 6381 5300

After hours media contact:

Louise Giolitto
0411 534 911

Recent Media Releases

Follow Us